APPOINTMENT OF SUB COMMITTEES (Report by the Head of Administration

1. INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 The Licensing Act 2003 requires the Licensing Committee to appoint one of more sub committees and to arrange for the sub committees to discharge certain of their functions.
- 1.2 For the purpose of appointing sub committees, the Committee at their meeting held on 19th January 2005 divided their membership into 3 groups comprising 4 members each. From each group of 4 members, a combination of 3 sub committees was established. This report invites the Committee to re-appoint members of the Committee to sub committees for the ensuing municipal year.

2. SUB COMMITTEES

- 2.1 The Act states that a sub committee must consist of three members of the committee. Sub committees of the Licensing Committee are not subject to the political balance requirements.
- 2.2 Having regard to the potential number of hearings of a sub committee that may be required during the transitional period and the urgency in some cases for hearings to be convened at 2 working days notice, it is suggested that a similar number of sub committees be appointed to provide sufficient flexibility and ensure Members' availability.
- 2.3 The 9 existing sub committees appointed by the Committee earlier in the year are as follows:-

Group A comprising Councillors Sadler, Simpson, Tuplin and Watt

Sub committees -

A1 comprising Councillors Sadler, Simpson and Tuplin A2 comprising Councillors Sadler, Tuplin and Watt A3 comprising Councillors Sadler, Simpson and Watt

Group B comprising Councillors Bell, Fell, Mrs Gregory and Taylor

Sub committees -

B1 comprising Councillors Bell, Fell and Mrs Gregory
B2 comprising Councillors Bell, Fell and Taylor

B3 comprising Councillors Bell, Mrs Gregory and Taylor

Group C comprising Councillors Muir, Harty, Powell and Mrs Wheeler

Sub committees -

C1 comprising Councillors Muir, Harty and Powell

C2 comprising Councillors Muir, Harty and Mrs Wheeler C3 comprising Councillors Muir, Powell and Mrs Wheeler

BACKGROUND PAPERS

Nil.

Contact Officer: Mr R Reeves, Head of Administration

(01480) 388003